A “Razzle-Dazzle Wingding!” Bigfoot at the Fair!


My “Razzle-Dazzle Wingding!” poem was my favorite of the three selections I entered in the San Juan County Fair.   The other two were in the category of children’s fiction.  One of them won a blue ribbon!  I will post that in my next blog for you to read.  Since this is my favorite, I wanted to share it first!  Enjoy!

A Razzle-Dazzle Wingding!

by © Cynthia Brast 2011

A razzle-dazzle wingding…

I got it at the store…

Opened it at home…where it rolled out on the floor.

It seemed to come to life then,

And open-mouthed I watched

As my razzle-dazzle wingding

Turned into a Sas-quatch!

You almost never see them

(Some people never do)

But standing there in front of me,

Decked out in red, white, and blue

Stood my razzle-dazzle Sasquatch

As real as me or you.

All hairy and a little stinky,

He looked me up and down,

And asked me if there was

Some-thing to do in town.

I said, “Why yes! The County Fair

Is op-en-ing today,

But if YOU go, then you might scare

Ev’ryone away!”

My razzle-dazzle bigfoot

Scratched his hairy head,

And then he looked at me again

And this is what he said…

“Razzle-dazzle bigfoots,

Should be welcomed at the fair.

You never should dis-crim-i-nate

Because of a little hair.

We’ll ride the ferris wheel,

And eat some candied cotton.

After that, we’ll find the main stage,

Where I’ll never be forgotten!”

My bigfoot took the mike

And this is what he said,

“Hello! County Fair Folk –

Bigfoot isn’t DEAD!”

So all those non-believers

Got to see the proof

That Bigfooot really does exist

And that’s the honest truth!

There really is a Bigfoot

And he can even sing,

He made our county fair this year

A “Razzle-Dazzle” Fling!

 

Text and illustration copyright 2011 by Cynthia Brast and may not be reproduced in any form without the expressed written consent of the author.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 7,339 hits
